Dividend distribution policy

The dividend distribution policy is determined by EDF’s Board of Directors.
It takes into account the Group’s investment needs, the economic context and any other factor considered to be relevant.

Dividend for 2015 fiscal year

At its 15 February 2016 meeting, EDF's Board of Directors decided to propose to the Shareholders' Meeting of 12 May 2016 the payment of a €1.101 per share dividend for 2015, with the option for a payment in new shares, equivalent to a 56% payout ratio2 after deduction of Cigéo extra-cost.
When subtracting the interim dividend of €0.57 per share paid out on 18 December 2015, the balance of the dividend to be paid out on the 2015 financial year would come to €0.53 per share for shares receiving the ordinary dividend and €0.64 per share receiving the loyalty dividend.

1Submitted for the approval of the Shareholders' Meeting of 19 May 2015. Excluding loyalty bonus.
2Payout ratio applied to Net income excluding non-recurring items adjusted for the remuneration of hybrid issues booked as equity.

Dividend history

Payment of dividends

The dividend is attached to a share.
As this is a cash payment, there is no specific procedure to follow; the dividend is credited by your financial intermediary straight into the bank account associated with your share account.

A 10% dividend increase for loyal shareholders

In 2011, the Annual General Meeting adopted the amendment to the articles of EDF with the implementation of a "loyalty bonus" of 10% for shareholders holding their shares in registered form (pure or administered) for at least 2 calendar years continuously.
  • Provision limited to 0.5% of the capital for a single shareholder, at the closing date of the previous financial year
  • The first "loyalty bonus" of 10% has been awarded in 2014 for the dividend distributed for the year 2013
  • The registration of shares in registered form (pure or administered) will have to be effective on 31 December 2016 at the latest to receive the loyalty bonus, which will be provided in respect of the financial year ended on 31 December 2018, in 2019

For further information on this topic

Back to top